Give me a sign

What with the repair shop on TV and everything, it’s nice to see where they respect the patina of a lot of the projects. This old door panel turned up on a vintage vehicle being partly restored by a friend. There was one each side, each a basic aluminium panel, fitted to a wooden doorframe which like the rest of the cab had sat in a field for decades. I understand that vehicle restoration often requires a back to bare metal approach but these examples of signwriting were part of the history. Me, I would have swopped them over and hidden them, painting up the reverse side and leaving this side to be found who knows when. Anyway, it wasn’t me, so I had to make do with a hasty snapshot! The vehicle was a large truck, so this explains the owners R. M. Wooley, Contractors, based in Bucknell, Shropshire. The large hole is where the door-handle fitting goes through.

Leave a comment